Wednesday, November 16, 2011

IAAPA Names New Hall of Fame Inductees

The International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions has named their new inductees into the IAAPA Hall of Fame.  John P. C. Collins, Frederick W. Pearce, Sr., and Wally Boag and Betty Taylor were celebrated for their "significant and lasting contributions to the worldwide attractions industry."

John Collins of John Collins Leisure is a 30 year veteran of the industry, having initially developed Barry Island Pleasure Park, and later working for the Tussauds Group.  An active player in  IAAPA, he served as chairman in 2003.

Wally Boag and Betty Taylor are best known for their performances in Disneyland's "Golden Horseshoe Revue" as Pecos Bill and Sluefoot Sue, respectively.  Together they appeared in more than 40,000 performances at the park.

Of special interest to coaster fans was the induction of Fred Pearce (aka The King of the Roller Coaster), of the F.W. Pearce Company, credited with single handedly creating giant wooden roller coaster.  He went on to build 27 rides over his fifty years in the industry.  Pearce was also a founder of IAAPA and President in 1928.

Fred's rides were some of the first to use pressure treated lumber during construction to protect them over time.  His last standing coaster was the Chippewa Lake Big Dipper.

Read more about the inductees from the IAAPA Show Daily.