Wednesday, November 18, 2015

IAAPA Hall of Fame

"We are pleased to welcome Fred Hollingsworth III, Jack Lindquist, and Tom Williams as the newest inductees to the IAAPA Hall of Fame," said Jack Morey, 2015 chairman of the IAAPA Hall of Fame and Archives Committee and executive vice president of Morey's Piers. "They are dedicated to creating unique experiences for our industry's guests, and the products and events they've directed have delighted people around the world for decades. Their passion for our business is unmistakable and they deserve this prestigious recognition for their contributions."

Fred Hollingsworth III, founder and former president of Omni Films International Inc., built the foundation for the development of many of today's film-based attractions. Hollingsworth is the visionary and manufacturer behind Cinema 180 and Motion Master, two hugely popular high-capacity, large-format, 70-mm point-of-view, film-based attractions for fairs, family entertainment centers, theme parks, and amusement parks. The attractions were affordable and received rave reviews from park guests. Prior to developing the film-based attractions, Hollingsworth was first known in the carnival business as a successful ride operator and manufacturer of portable carnival attractions, including dark rides, flying bobs, and glass houses. Hollingsworth first introduced his innovative theaters to the attractions industry in 1974 and at one point more than 200 installations were entertaining guests around the world.

Jack Lindquist began his attractions industry journey in 1955 as Disneyland's first advertising manager (and, eventually, its first president), tasked with developing promotions and special events as well as writing the occasional remarks for Walt Disney. Some of his most creative advertising innovations, partnerships, and promotions include corporate sponsorships, hard-ticket special events for corporate groups and conventions, parties in the park exclusively for graduates, and utilizing department stores as ticket outlets for special events. Lindquist is perhaps most famous for creating Disney Dollars, giving away cars to Disneyland guests, and creating the "I'm going to Disneyland!" Super Bowl commercial. Many of the promotions he created continue to influence those in use by marketing teams at theme and amusement parks around the world. 

For more than 40 years, Tom Williams has positively influenced guest experiences at Universal Parks & Resorts destinations in the United States and Asia, through the development of first-ever attraction experiences and immersive storytelling. Williams was on the opening team for Universal Orlando in Florida, which began thrilling guests in 1990. Williams was named park president soon after the gates opened. He was later named chairman and CEO of Universal Parks & Resorts and has led the highly creative teams that developed theme park and resort destinations in Hollywood, Orlando, Singapore, and Japan, including the openings of Universal Studios Japan, Universal Studios Singapore, and Islands of Adventure and CityWalk in Orlando, Florida. In recent years, he led the charge to bring the magic of worldwide sensation Harry Potter to Universal theme parks, opening The Wizarding World of Harry Potter—Hogsmeade in 2010 at Islands of Adventure and creating an entirely new level of immersive theme park experience. He then led the Universal to develop The Wizarding World of Harry Potter—Diagon Alley in 2014, expanding the Harry Potter-themed rides, restaurants, and shops to Universal Studios Florida. Another Wizarding World of Harry Potter opened in 2014 at Universal Studios Japan, while another is set to open in 2016 at Universal Studios Hollywood in Los Angeles, California. Williams' leadership and commitment to innovation have inspired his teams and an entire industry to develop amazing attractions and experiences for park-goers.

The IAAPA Hall of Fame was established in 1990 to honor legends and pioneers for their significant and lasting contributions to the growth and development of the attractions industry. In the past 25 years, dozens of industry pioneers from around the world have been inducted to the Hall of Fame including P. T. Barnum (founder of the American Museum); Walt Disney (The Walt Disney Company); Milton Hershey (Hersheypark); Dick Knoebel (Knoebels Amusement Resort); Bo Kinntorph (Liseberg); Will Koch (Holiday World & Splashin' Safari); Franz Mack (Mack Rides/Europa-Park); Bob Rogers (BRC Imagination Arts); Jay Stein (Universal Studios Florida); Geoffrey Thompson (Blackpool Pleasure Beach); and Antonio Zamperla (Zamperla).